A NSW Government website

List of monitored medicines

The list of medicines monitored by SafeScript NSW were considered by a panel of medical experts based on which medicines have the potential to cause the most harm to the community in NSW.

Monitored medicines include:




Including but not limited to buprenorphine, codeine, fentanyl, hydromorphone, methadone, morphine, oxycodone, pethidine, tapentadol, tramadol

Benzodiazepines (prescribed for anxiety or sleep)

Including but not limited to alprazolam, bromazepam, clobazam, clonazepam, diazepam, flunitrazepam, lorazepam, midazolam, nitrazepam, oxazepam, temazepam

Other sleeping aids

Zolpidem, zopiclone

Psychostimulants (prescribed for ADHD and narcolepsy)

Dexamfetamine, lisdexamfetamine, methylphenidate


Ketamine, pregabalin, quetiapine, cannabis based medicines in Schedule 8
All other Schedule 8 medicines not listed above

A full list of monitored medicines is included in the Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008 (Appendix E).